Getting Rid of the Box

 

In 2007, I attended the Gulf Islands Film & Television School on Galiano Island. It was a wonderful month of exploring everything from super 8 to scratch animation, to voice over work and soundscape recordings, to documentaries and even some acting.

Before deciding to go to film school, I had been working as an Executive Assistant at the local Real Estate Board, a job that was not well-suited to someone like me. I’ve always been good at these sorts of jobs but something has always felt wrong about them. My mother used to say that I was a “square peg trying to fit into a round hole”. These jobs just weren’t a good fit and always left me feeling boxed in, uninspired, and depressed.

I met my lovely and very talented friend, Sandi Barrett, at film school that summer. Sandi created this wonderful short entitled “Girl in a Box” as a representation of how definitions can hinder the growth of an individual’s identity.

I relate strongly to this idea – I actually did manage to squeeze myself into that box!  And, while I’d never been in front of the camera before, I was glad to have been a part of the project.

I recently read a quote by Deepak Chopra which reminded me of this little film so am sharing it again…

instead-of-thinking-outside-the-box

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.