Waking Up

Be Here Now

Have you ever asked for a sign? Some indication that you were on the right path, making the right choice, doing the right thing? Or have you ever been struck by an idea or inspired by something you come across in the most unlikely of places?

I took the above photo while I was walking through the park. I had been taking this same walk every day that week, sometimes twice a day, to go over to a friend’s house to feed their cat and water their plants. I’d passed this particular spot numerous times and yet hadn’t noticed the words stencilled onto the sidewalk until that day. Had I missed them the first time I’d walked by? Had they been there all along or had someone just put them there?

Many of the photos I post to this blog have been taken while I’ve been walking. My first blog post photo, “Be Brave, Be Happy”, was something I saw etched on the wall as I walked along Willows Beach last year.  Even the pink flower petals in the shape of a heart were something I caught on the sidewalk, out of the corner of my eye, while walking through downtown Victoria. I like to see these as little inspirational messages or reminders I am receiving along my journey.

This “Be Here Now” message came to me at a time when I’d been finding myself glued to my computer screen. I was aware of the fact that I was watching hours of online television and yet, as much as I tried to convince myself to stop, I was unable to pull myself away. It both fascinated and frustrated me to watch my behaviour.

It reminded me of the following excerpt from Michael A. Singer’s book entitled, “The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself” and upon reading it again I felt instantly better. Better because I knew that even if my behaviour hadn’t yet changed, my awareness had; that while I thought I was numbing myself out with my addictive behaviour I was, in fact, more conscious than I’d ever been. I was finally waking up.

“When you contemplate the nature of Self, you are meditating. That is why meditation is the highest state. It is the return to the root of your being, the simple awareness of being aware. Once you become conscious of the consciousness itself, you attain a totally different state. You are now aware of who you are. You have become an awakened being. It’s really just the most natural thing in the world. Here I am. Here I always was.

It’s like you have been on the couch watching TV, but you were so totally immersed in the show that you forgot where you were. Someone shook you, and now you’re back to the awareness that you’re sitting on the couch watching TV. Nothing else changed.  You simply stopped projecting your sense of self onto that particular object of consciousness. You woke up. That is spirituality. That is the nature of Self. That is who you are.

As you pull back into the consciousness, this world ceases to be a problem. It’s just something you’re watching. It keeps changing, but there is no sense of that being a problem. The more you are willing to just let the world be something you are aware of, the more it will let you be who you are – the awareness, the Self, the Atman, the Soul.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.